Coleridge-Taylor and Sibelius

Chattanooga Symphony Coleridge-Taylor and Sibelius Concert

April 21, 2022 • 7:30 PM • Memorial Auditorium

Part of the Barnett & Company Masterworks Series 
Kayoko Dan, conductor
Elena Urioste*, violin 

Perry - Short Piece for Orchestra
Coleridge-Taylor - Violin Concerto in G minor
Sibelius - Symphony No. 2 in D Major

Our season finale features Sibelius’ 2nd symphony, described by the composer as a “confession of the soul”, and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s posthumously published Violin Concerto. African-American composer Julia Perry’s Short Piece for Orchestra is described as highly energized and thunderous.

Student/Child Tickets: This concert is eligible for students and children to attend at a discounted rate. Visit our Box Office page for more information.

* In partnership with the Sphinx Soloist program –

Please note: We want each CSO supporter and staff member to have a safe and healthy experience as we come together to share our love of live music. To ensure this, attendees should expect to adhere to the following guidelines until further notice when attending concerts in the 21/22 season:

  • All concert attendees must present their vaccination card or a negative COVID-19 test taken within the past 72 hours for entry.
  • All concert attendees, regardless of vaccination status, must wear a mask over their nose and mouth for the duration of the event.

For more on concert health and safety, click here